Not only am I cursed with thin hair (it's always been a problem for me), but it's also very fine. My hair will fall out of a simple braid. There are types of hair clips that I cannot use because my hair is simply too fine. It freaking sucks.
My daughter is also cursed with fine hair. I recognize all of the signs when I see them. We have a hard time brushing it out after a bath because of all the tangles. Every morning when she gets up, it looks like she took up break-dancing during the night and spent eight hours practicing spinning on her head. This means she is going to have difficulty maintaining hairstyles and a hard time getting her hair to do anything that doesn't involve stick-straight hair.
FYI, she just randomly shouted at the dog "No! I don't want to hear your piggy noises!" The dog is asleep underneath our coffee table three feet away from her.
I digress.
I know we need to change her shampoo/conditioner deal and I already explained to my husband what we have to look forward to when it comes to taking care of her hair. She's almost four. I can't expect her to take on that responsibility this young. I'm the one that doesn't want to cut it, the least I can do is properly take care of it. I told him what kind of shampoo/conditioner we will need to get, how we will need to wash her hair, what we will have to look forward to in the future (she will not be able to use 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner combos when she starts school), and how we will have to maintain her how for the time being.
One of the measures of preventing the major rat nest from forming in her beautiful tresses is to just put her hair up before bed. My child does not like having her hair up if she feels like she will be lying down at any time. It bothers her and she will want her hair down immediately. So, I sat her down after her bath and explained to her that she will just have to start putting her hair up before bed so she won't get knots. She seemed receptive, but we weren't going to start that night. I like to take time introducing changes to my girl because she will get very upset if you don't. She likes to be involved.
The next night, I reminded her that we were going to be putting her hair up so it wouldn't get all tangled and she still seemed game. I told her we were going to do two braids, just like Doc McStuffins. She normally fights me on this hairstyle (she's quite partial to just pigtails), but was actually quite eager to give it a try. We braided her hair, had a final conversation about her sleeping with her hair like that, and off to bed she went.
She got up the next morning and we took her braids out. Huzzah! No tangles or knots! I was also pleasantly surprised to see wonderful little waves in her hair that seemed to stay all day. They did fall a little as the day wore on, but they were still there. I decided I would share it with whoever actually looked at this thing, or just to remind myself of how it looked.
| Morning after braids (ignore the Christmas pajamas) |
| Soft waves |
No comments:
Post a Comment